If you are seriously injured in an accident on the job, there are probably several questions that you have. What am I going to do? How badly am I injured? How much work will I miss? How am I going to get by?
One of the most important questions that you may have is, “How will I be compensated for my lost wages? How will this be taken care of?”
The answer is that this is one of the benefits that are provided by workers’ compensation. As you probably may know, workers’ compensation is a form of business insurance that nearly all employers are required to carry in every state in the United States except for the state of Texas.
Fault is not an issue
Workers’ compensation insurance is a special type of insurance that an employer has. This is because when it comes to workers’ compensation, in almost all instances, fault is not an issue that is taken into consideration when a worker is injured in an accident on the job. As long as the accident happens while you are doing your job for your employer, it does not make any difference whether the accident that brought about your injuries was your fault or your employer’s. You are eligible for workers’ compensation benefits.
Almost all kinds of injuries are covered by workers’ compensation. Again, it just has to be an injury that you sustained while you were doing your job for your employer.
Being compensated for lost wages is one of the benefits that is provided by workers’ compensation. Although the amount may vary depending on the state that you live and work in, it usually amounts to about 2/3 of your regular weekly wage from your job.
You will receive checks for lost wages from your employer’s workers’ compensation insurance company. The insurance company is supposed to pay you at the same frequency as your employer pays you. If your employer pays you weekly, the insurance company is supposed to send you a check each week.
How long can you get lost wages
You may also ask, “But for how long will I be compensated for my lost wages?” This depends on how serious your disability is and the laws of the state that you live in. For example, in Massachusetts, if you have a temporary total disability, you can get a check for as long as three years. In California, you can get a check for temporary total disability for up to two years. In Georgia, it is 400 weeks, or over seven years. In Wisconsin, being compensated for lost wages will continue for as long as the doctor who is treating you says that you are not able to go back to work.
If your disability is a temporary partial disability, you can be compensated for lost wages for up to five years in Massachusetts. In California, it is two years. In Georgia, you can get temporary partial disability checks for as long as 350 weeks, or over six years. In Wisconsin, you can receive these benefits until your condition becomes stabilized, and treatment as well as convalescence is not likely to result in additional improvement.
This all may sound simple and straight forward, but it can be extremely complex and complicated. In order to assure that you will receive the maximum cash benefits that are rightfully yours, it is wise to have a workers’ compensation attorney working for you.
- Workers’ Compensation and Who Pays for It (usworkerscomp.com)
- Lump-Sum settlement for Being Permanently and Totally Disabled From Employment (usworkerscomp.com)
- Third Party Claims for Injuries on the Job (usworkerscomp.com)